A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses
Home city guide administration of lakhimpur

Administration of Lakhimpur

An administrative district of Assam with its headquarters located in North Lakhimpur, Lakhimpur district is administered by the Deputy Commissioner.  He is the administrative head of the district and in discharging his duties he is assisted by the Additional Deputy Commissioners, Circle offices and other officers.

All the government departments like the police department, District Rural Developmemt agency, Public Works Department, Municipal Board and so on work in collaboration and make Lakhimpur a properly managed district.

Government Departments of Lakhimpur

Lakhimpur Administration
The Department of Police in Lakhimpur is responsible for the maintenance of law and order in collaboration with the District Administration. There are three police stations in Lakhimpur viz North Lakhimpur Police Station, Dhakuakhana Police Station and Bihpuria Police Station.

The District Rural Development Agency in Lakhimpur works for the implementation of Centrally sponsored programme meant for rural development.  The department is mainly concerned with the developmemt of rural masses through poverty alleviation programmes.

The town of North Lakhimpur is managed by the North Lakhimpur Municipal Board. The board supervises the efficient maintenance and smooth running of the different departments of the town.

Sub Divisions & Developmental Blocks  of Lakhimpur

With the headquarters of the Lakhimpur district located at North Lakhimpur, Dhakuakhana is the sub divisional headquarters. The revenue circles in the district include:

  • Lakhimpur
  • Dhakuakhana
  • Kadam
  • Nauboicha
  • Bihpuria
  • Narayanpur
  • Subansiri ( Ghilamara)

The number of Blocks in Lakhimpur includes:

  • Narayanpur
  • Bihpuria
  • Karunabari
  • Nowboicha
  • Telahi
  • Lakhimpur
  • Boginadi
  • Ghilamara
  • Dhakuakhana

Assembly & Lok Sabha Constituency of Lakhimpur

Lakhimpur Lok Sabha Constituency is one of the fourteen Lok Sabha constituencies in Assam. The Lakhimpur Lok Sabha Constituency consists of the assembly segments of Majuli, Naoboicha, Lakhimpur, Dhakuakhana (ST), Dhemaji (ST), Jonai (ST), Chabua, Doom Dooma and Sadiya.

There are four Assam Legislative Assembly Constituencies in Lakhimpur district viz Lakhimpur, Bihpuria, Naobaicha and Dhakuakhana.
Lakhimpur JudiciaryThe Lakhimpur district is one of the few districts of Assam where Administration of Justice was started by the British since 1838-1839. The British established Munsiff Court in 1898. The Lakhimpur district earlier consisted of Dibrugarh, Dhemaji and Tinsukia districts and the headquarters of the district was at Dibrugarh and the sessions cases used to be tried at Dibrugarh. Later Dibrugarh, Dhemaji and Tinsukia were separated from Lakhimpur and Lakhimpur was granted the status of independent district with its headquarters at North Lakhimpur. At that time the judiciary was also separated. Later in the year 1977 the  Court of the District & Sessions Judge was created.  Later courts of Chief Judicial Magistrate and  court of District & Sessions Judge and other Courts were set up here.

Courts in Lakhimpur

There are various functioning courts under the Lakhimpur District Judiciary. They are:

District & Sessions Judge Court Complex (Lakhimpur)

  • District & Sessions Judge Court
  • Additional District & Sessions Judge(FTC) Court
  • Civil Judge & Assistant Sessions Judge Court
  • Chief Judicial Magistrate Court
  • Additional Chief Judicial Magistrate Court
  • Sub Divisional Judicial Magistrate Court
  • Munsiff 1 Court
  • Munsiff 2 Court
  • Judicial Magistrate 2nd Class Court

Sub Divisional Judicial Magistrate Court Complex (Dhakuakhana )

  • Sub Divisional Judicial Magistrate (SDJM) (Mofussil) Court
  • Munsiff cum Judicial Magistrate Court

Address and Contact Number

Office of the District and Sessions Judge Court
Address: Lakhimpur, Assam
Phone: 91 (03752-222337)
E Mail:   dj-lakhimpur@nic.in
Website: https://lakhimpurjudiciary.gov.in/index.htm

You may also like to visit

Major Cities You Must Know

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries